Blogging and Rhetorical Affordances

Blogs allow for conversations related to particular niche hobbies or interests to freely take shape and easily connect with readers. They give anybody with internet access an opportunity to potentially build a mass audience and publicly promote their work while creating space for personal touches. Distribution of information is more interactive on a blog since readers can comment on posts and create on-going discussions. For me, this is where I lose interest in blogs in a classroom setting. The conversations that are created, while seemingly in-flux, are forgotten by my fleeting attention. After I respond to my classmates’ posts, I usually do not think to go back and look for subsequent comments since my time doesn’t warrant for a lot of blogging diligence. However, it was brought to my attention in class that all I need to do is check the box allowing for emails to alert me to responses. So I realize now that it is once more my lack-of-techno-literacy that has proved me a nincompoop when trying to meaningfully participate.     

1 thought on “Blogging and Rhetorical Affordances

  1. bkoeppcsusb

    This is an important point – for whatever reason, its difficult to keep a blog discussion alive past the first few days of posts. Even if you had been toggling email notification all along, like I have, motivation to continue a discussion beyond token commentary hemorrhages rapidly. At least in my experience. Part of it might be a kind of weariness in having to track down disparate blogs, following disparate discussions, and the sometimes intimidating task of inserting yourself into a discussion in a way that’s useful and not redundant.

    Reply

Leave a comment